Hannah Elizabeth

Name:                                                  Hannah Elizabeth

hannah

Year of PhD:                                       3 of 3

Thesis Topic:                                      Representation of HIV to Children

Funding Body:                                   ESRC

About:                                                

I’m a second year PhD student based in CHSTM and the history department at the University of Manchester. I’m researching the history of the representation of HIV-positive identities to children in Britain from around 1981-1997.

Previously I completed an MA in cultural history at the University of Manchester, where my thesis looked at the representation of nuclear war in British children’s literature. My more general research interests are in the history of gender, sexuality, disease and childhood. When I’m not being a historian I like hiking, running, climbing, cooking, creative writing and gin – but not all at the same time.

Contacts: @sexhistorian

