Kath Platt

Name:                                                  Kath Platt

kath

Year of PhD:                                       3 of 3

Thesis Topic:                                      Siemens & Regional Identity

Funding Body:                                  CASE ESRC

About:                                                 

My research is focussed on the engineering company Siemens and their activities in the north of England in the twentieth century.  I am particularly interested in issues of regional identity, infrastructure and the movement from heavy to light industry.  Before my PhD I completed my MSc in History of Science here at CHSTM and prior to this worked in the oil industry as a geophysicist.  I also have an interest in museums and work and volunteer at the Manchester Museum and MOSI.

Contacts: @kathplatt_phd

