Andrew Black

Name: Andrew Black

Year of PhD: 3 of 3

Thesis Topic:  Generating Medical Research Policy

Funding Body: CASE ESRC

About:

I’m a first year PhD student based at CHSTM.  My research is centred on the activities of the MRC and how medical research policy has been developed in Britain since 1945.  My interest is in how scientific and medical priorities emerge and how they relate to broader social and cultural movements.  Prior to my PhD I completed an MSc here at CHSTM where my thesis examined the cultural image of the tranquilliser in 1960s Britain.  Before turning to history I studied pharmacology and worked for several years in clinical research, including a recent study on depression.  My research interests include contentious diseases, “magic bullets” and psychopharmacology.

4 thoughts on “Andrew Black

  1. […] Andrew Black University of Manchester […]

  2. […] of the conference was a marathon session in which two parallel sessions were amalgamated into one. Andrew Black delivered an insightful paper reflecting on contemporary issues on his research into the Medical […]

  3. […] which CHSTM PhDs went? Myself, Stuart, Cameron, Sam, Andrew, Camilla and Alice White – yes I know she’s at Kent but she was assumed to be ONE OF US several […]

Leave a Reply

